The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0012; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: April 23, 1999

UI honors students, faculty and alumni at Finkbine Dinner for Representative Student Leaders

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The University of Iowa honored several outstanding students, faculty and alumni Tuesday, April 20, at the 82nd anniversary Finkbine Dinner for Representative Student Leaders, one of the most prestigious award ceremonies at the UI.

The event has been held since 1917 to honor campus leaders and give them an opportunity to meet administrators, faculty, fellow students and alumni. The dinner is named after William O. Finkbine, a Des Moines businessman and 1880 UI law graduate.

The tradition of awarding Hancher-Finkbine medallions began in 1964. The awards, which recognize outstanding leadership, learning and loyalty, are named after Finkbine and Virgil M. Hancher, who served as president of the UI from 1940 to1964.

Here is a listing of the awards presented:

Hancher-Finkbine Undergraduate Student Medallion: Amanda Ennis, a senior mechanical engineering major from Columbia, S.C.; Kristin Kaye Lee, a senior in finance from Mapleton.

Hancher-Finkbine Graduate/Professional Student Medallion: Annette Churee Dietz, a doctorate student studying civil and environmental engineering from Ames; Jennifer E. Horan, a third year law student from Cullom, Ill.

Hancher-Finkbine Faculty Medallion: James D. Marshall, English professor. Marshall has been a part of UI faculty since 1985 and served as a chair/associate chair of the Assembly on Research for the National Council of Teachers of English. He is currently serving as the chair of the Division of Curriculum and Instruction in the College of Education.

Hancher-Finkbine Alumni Medallion: Lilia A. Abron, founder and chief executive of PEER Consultants, P.C. — a Washington D.C. environmental consulting firm with branch offices in 10 major U.S. cities. Abron received a doctorate in chemical engineering from the UI in 1972, making her the first African-American woman in the United States and the third woman at the UI to receive a doctorate in chemical engineering.

Philip G. Hubbard Human Rights Award: Ned Bertz, a graduate student in history who was instrumental in gaining the recognition of the International Alliance of People's Movements (IAPM) as a UI student organization. The award, which carries a $1,500 scholarship to be applied to educational costs, is presented to a student who has demonstrated outstanding contributions to the UI's commitment to human rights. It was established in 1981 in honor of the long-time UI faculty member and administrator who was one of the faculty members on the first UI Human Rights Committee.

Distinguished Student Leader Certificates: James Connelly, a senior majoring in biomedical engineering and pre-medicine from Dubuque; Tara L. Henrichsen, a fourth year medical student from Storm Lake; Jennifer Kay Ireland, a fourth year medical student from West Des Moines; and Kyle J. Munn, a graduate student in engineering and genetics from Downers Grove, Ill.

The Distinguished Student Leader Certificates are given to students who have exhibited leadership, learning and loyalty in their work with fellow students and faculty members.

Robert F. Ray Faculty Representative Award: Amy Herrig of Dubuque, a senior sport, health, leisure and physical studies major who was co-captain of the UI women's basketball team, named to the first team All Big Ten Conference and received honorable mention All-American honors; Matt Reischl, of Greendale, Wis., a senior majoring in finance and economics who is a member of the Iowa Football team and a National Merit Scholar. Reischl has received many honors, including being a four-time selection for Academic-All Big Ten. The award is presented each year to student-athletes who have completed eligibility and have demonstrated outstanding academic and athletic excellence and leadership.

M.L. Huit Faculty Award: Mary Lou Emery, an associate professor of English in the College of Liberal Arts. The M.L. Huit Faculty Award was established in 1978 to recognize Huit's dedication and service to UI students during his tenure as dean of students. The award is presented each year to a faculty member who best characterizes Huit's contributions to university and community life.

James N. Murray Faculty Award: Sharif Rahman, assistant professor in mechanical engineering. The award is given to an untenured faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding rapport with students and who creates an exemplary classroom atmosphere. It is named in honor of the late James N. Murray, UI professor and past chair of political science.