The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0009; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

Local Student Wins UI Computer Science Scholarship

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- (Name) of (hometown), a (class) in the department of computer science in the University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts, has been named the winner of (name and amount of scholarship) for the 1998-1999 academic year.

The scholarships are awarded on the basis of merit.


EDITOR: Student scholarship winners from Iowa are listed alphabetically by HOMETOWN. Lists of winners from other states and abroad follow the Iowa list.

EARLVILLE: Tammy B. Scherbring, junior, $1,000 John Deere Scholarship
IOWA CITY: Matt Tucker, junior, $1,000 Cargill Scholarship
LONG GROVE: Scott Oster, junior, $1,000 John Deere Scholarship
ORIENT: Dennis Crall, senior, $1,000 John Deere Scholarship
WAUKON: Shayne L. Gelo, senior, $1,500 Collins Education Fund Scholarship

HOUSTON: Maria Roch, graduate student, $1,500 Collins Education Fund Scholarship

CHINA: Wei Xia, graduate student, $1,500 Gerard P. Weeg Scholarship Fund
ROMANIA: Mirela Damian-Iordache, graduate student, $1,500 Gerard P. Weeg Scholarship Fund