The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us
2130 Medical Laboratories
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-9917

Release: Immediate

Association honors UI's Andreasen as fellow

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Dr. Nancy Andreasen, UI professor of psychiatry, was one of 283 American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) members that the organization recently bestowed with the rank of "fellow."

Each year, the AAAS votes to elevate a select number of its members to fellow status. The AAAS selects these individuals based on the efforts they make toward advancing science or fostering applications that the association deems scientifically or socially distinguished.

The AAAS will honor Andreasen and the others it selected this year during the 1999 AAAS Annual Meeting on Jan. 23 in Anaheim, Calif. Each new fellow will receive an official certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin.

Andreasen started at UI in 1963 as an assistant professor of English. She graduated from the UI College of Medicine in 1970. After finishing her residency she became an UI assistant professor of psychiatry in 1973. Andreasen reached the rank of professor in 1981 and has served as the director of the Mental Health Clinical Research Center since 1987. She became the Andrew H. Woods Chair of Psychiatry in 1997.

Andreasen also currently serves as the chairperson for the AAAS's neuroscience section. The AAAS was founded in 1848 and is the world's largest federation of scientific and engineering societies with more than 282 affiliates and 144,000 individual members.

The AAAS created its fellows distinction in 1874. The AAAS considers members for the rank of fellow based on nominations from the steering group of their respective sections, from three existing fellows or from the AAAS's executive officer. Each steering committee then reviews the nominations of the individuals within its respective section and forwards its final list to the AAAS Council, which makes the fellow decision. The council is the policymaking body for the AAAS.