The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0011; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

UI professor's team a finalist in NASA software competition

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- A five-member team led by University of Iowa assistant professor David Eichmann is a finalist for the 1998 NASA Software of the Year Award, a competition that recognizes software developed and owned by NASA. The software, called MORE, allows industries, libraries and other organizations that must organize and maintain a large volume of information in digital form, to create customized, Web-based catalogs of data.

Eichmann, who came to the UI in August 1997, holds a joint appointment in library and information science and in computer science. He developed MORE as part of the Repository Based Software Engineering Program, which was funded by NASA and supported a number of projects in increasing their ability to reuse and re-engineer software systems to meet current needs. The program is based at the University of Houston--Clear Lake, where Eichmann was a faculty member before coming to the UI.

MORE has already proved successful and flexible enough to meet the distinct needs of some very different companies. For example, some pharmaceutical companies have used the software as a means of sharing laboratory notebook information, and the Pittsburgh Tribune Review uses the software to provide on-line classified ads. Another organization using MORE is the Pittsburgh Steelers, which uses the system to sell team paraphernalia on the Web.

The NASA Software of the Year Award carries a prize of up to $100,000, depending on the value of the contribution to government and industry. The award is given to the developer of software that NASA has an intellectual property interest in, that has been supported, adopted, sponsored, or used by NASA, and that is significant to the NASA mission.

Eichmann's team is one of 13 finalists for the award. NASA will announce the winner later this year.