The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0011; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

(Editors: Receipt of this release indicates a scholarship winner in your area.)

UI Liberal Arts Dean announces scholarship winners

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Linda Maxson, dean of the College of Liberal Arts at the University of Iowa, has announced the winners of several scholarships awarded by the college to students continuing their studies in the 1998-99 academic year.

This year, the college is awarding two new scholarships. The Velma Stuit Scholarship, in the amount of $1,000, is awarded to an outstanding undergraduate woman in the sciences who had demonstrated significant service to others. The first winner is Jennifer N. Everard, a senior microbiology major from Lamoni. The Mary Pelechek Scholarship, in the amount of $1,000, is awarded to a student majoring in art, dance, music, or theatre. The first winner is Corinne M. Puchalla, a freshman music major from Andover, Minn.

The George S. Shaeffer Scholarships, in the amount of $1,000 each, are given to outstanding undergraduates in science who come from the Iowa farming community. This year's winners are:

Shelly Marie Bierbaum, a senior exercise science major from Griswold.

Gregory John Gerling, a senior computer science major from Winfield.

Haley Meredith Newbrough, a sophomore biology major from Britt.

Angie Lea Ouren, a junior biology major from Harlan.

Jennifer Lynn Urfer, a sophomore biology major from Malcom.

The following scholarships are awarded annually to liberal arts students who are selected on the basis of their academic promise, their academic accomplishments, and special challenges in their backgrounds or current circumstances.

The winners of the Alexander Kern Scholarships, in the amount of $2,500 each are:

Lisbeth C.C. Avakian, a sophomore pre-medicine major from Coralville.

LaVonne Ann Mangin, a senior in interdepartmental studies working on computational biology from Dittmer, Mo.

Anna Ouzounian Williford, a junior biology and mathematics major from Protvino, Russia.

The winner of the Mary Goodykoontz Barnes Scholarship, in the amount of $1,000, is Marie Kristina Rutkoski, a senior English and French major from Bollingbrook, Ill.

The winner of the Margaret Foster Hoff Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $1,000, is David Matthew Heck, a junior philosophy major from Cedar Rapids.

The winner of the Myrna Lee Sprengeler Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $1,000, is Roy Maxwell, a sophomore English and journalism major from Portland, Maine.

The winner of the Mary Campbell Tow Scholarship, in the amount of $1,000, is Shannon Marie Niemeyer, a senior history and English major from Waverly.

The winner of the Edward Prichett Scholarship, in the amount of $600, is Christopher Michael Scheer, a junior music major from El Paso, Ill.