The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0047; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

12 UI staff members named winners of staff excellence awards

IOWA CITY, Iowa--Twelve staff members of the University of Iowa have been named recipients of staff excellence awards, six receiving State Board of Regents Awards and six receiving University Staff Excellence Awards.

The awards recognize extraordinary contributions beyond what is normally expected on the job. The Regents awards go to persons whose contributions benefit the state of Iowa, and the University awards recognize contributions to the university community. The award program is coordinated by the University's Staff Council.

Winners of the State Board of Regents Awards are:

Susan Cline, who processes all College of Education graduate admissions applications and degree programs, manages the Office of Student Services, and works with Associate Dean Richard D. Shepardson, who nominated her.

Rolando Arroyo-Sucre, special assistant to the vice president for student services and director of Special Support Services, which serves minority and first-generation college students and also works to provide cross-cultural experience for majority students. Arroyo-Sucre was nominated by 21 staff, faculty, and administration persons.

Susan Buckley, coordinator of administrative services in the department of human resources, works with the University Strategic Planning Implementation Team, and supports the associate vice president and director of human resources, Bob Foldesi, who nominated her.

Sharon Helt, educational consultant in University Hospital School, who works with children and their families, participates in many university committees and clinical teams, and is co-instructor for a graduate level methods class offered through the Division of Curriculum Instruction. She was nominated by Dennis L. Corwin, supervisor and coordinator, Inpatient Unit, at the hospital school.

Patricia J. Mason, program associate, department of ophthalmology and visual sciences, and executive director, Iowa Lions Eye Bank. Nominated by Sara Baker and Janice Reiter of the eye bank, Mason has helped many local, state and international ophthalmology patients to receive corneal transplants or other necessary procedures.

Dr. Polly Nichols, director, educational services, Child Psychiatry Service, who helped to develop a day school, the Circle School, to offer therapeutic education to psychiatrically ill patients to allow them to live at home, rather than in an institution. She was nominated by Cathy Willoughby, RN, nurse manager in Child Psychiatry Service.

University Staff Excellence Awards went to the following persons:

Betty L. Dye, secretary III and head department secretary, department of exercise science, the "all-round problem solver" of the department and representative of the department for the past eight years at an international conference sponsored by Gatorade Division of Quaker Oats on the physiology of exercise and aging. She was nominated by Jerry A. Maynard, professor and chair of exercise science and professor of orthopedic surgery and anatomy.

Marilyn E. Hedges, secretary II in the Hygienic Laboratory, who taught herself desktop design and publishing when an artist went on leave in order to produce the department newsletter and annual report in addition to the usual duties of her position. She was nominated by Pat Kosier, human relations specialist, in the Hygienic Laboratory.

Mei-Lee Szeto, dietary cashier in the staff dining room of University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, described as fast and accurate in her cashier duties but able to strike up a conversation with persons who need a smile in a high-stress atmosphere. She was nominated by Diana Gilbert, catering services supervisor at the hospital.

Linda Goodwin Bissell, program associate I and director of financial services, Office of Student Affairs and Curriculum, College of Medicine, who helps students in medical school overcome short- and long-term financial issues, develops the department budget, and frequently speaks at local and national financial officer meetings. She was nominated by Peter Densen, M.D., associate dean, College of Medicine.

Deanna Hurst, director, Business and Liberal Arts Placement Office and president of the College of Business Administration's Elected Staff Council, who helps both students seeking careers and the recruiters who come to campus to find them. She was nominated by the other members of the Elected Staff Council.

Jeanne A. Liston, advanced practice nurse in Child Health Specialty Clinics (CHSC), a statewide pediatric outreach program for children with chronic health conditions and disabilities. She plans, implements, and manages the services that help these children. Liston was nominated by Dorothy K. Doolittle, M.S.N., R.N., assistant director for patient care services at the Hospital School, and Jeffrey G. Lobas, M.D., M.P.A., CHSC director.