The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0007; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

State legislators address school executives June 9 at UI

IOWA CITY, Iowa --A group of key state legislators will be guest speakers at the annual Legislative Update of the Institute for School Executives at the University of Iowa College of Education on Tuesday, June 9.

Senators Michael Connolly, D-Dubuque, Wally Horn, D-Cedar Rapids, and Mary Kramer, R-West Des Moines, will be joined by Representatives Dan Boddicker, R-Tipton, Betty Grundberg, R-Des Moines, and Phil Wise, D-Keokuk in a panel discussion beginning at 1:15 p.m. at the University Athletic Club, 1360 Melrose Ave.

The annual legislative update is open to the public, but requires advance registration. Fees vary for members and non-members of the Institute for School Executives.

Lunch will be served at noon with a welcome address at 12:45 p.m. by David Haggard of the Fort Dodge Community School District, who will also recognize retiring school superintendents.

Steven R. Yussen, dean of the UI College of Education, will speak to the group at 1:15 p.m. Legislators will be joined in the panel discussion by Marc Haack from School Administrators of Iowa.

For more information, contact the Institute for School Executives at (319) 335-5350.