The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


Assistant Director of Development
Women's Intercollegiate Athletics
UI Foundation News
500 Levitt Center for University Advancement
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-3305

Release: Immediate

Area residents named to Iowa Plus Board of Directors for UI Women's Athletics

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Eleven people have been named to the Iowa Plus Board of Directors, an advisory board for the University of Iowa Women's Athletics program.

The new board members, all from Iowa, are Gloria M. Escarza, Mark F. Kamps, Libby L. Kestel, Karen A. Lorenzen, Todd Nelson, and Donna Sorensen of Iowa City; John O. Kamerick of Knoxville; William J. Holtey of Cedar Rapids; Connie Anderson and Angela R. Maher of Coralville; and Larry D. Wiedmeyer of Bettendorf.

"The enthusiastic support of Iowa Plus board members plays an important role in the success of our program," said Jana Egeland, the University of Iowa Foundation's associate director of development, Women's Intercollegiate Athletics. "Board members boost interest in UI women's athletics through special events, and they help secure financial support for the women's program. Their support allows our program to grow."

The new members join current Iowa Plus Board President Bill Burger and Vice President Lori Ellingson of Iowa City, and board members Dr. Darold E. Albright, James D. Corwin and Barney Crutchfield of Iowa City; Kathleen H. Chapman, Helen B. Arnold-Olson, Gloria J. Frost, and Linda Liechty Mordaunt of Cedar Rapids; Patricia A. Wells of Coralville; Joanne Sutton Updegraff of Bettendorf; Lynn R. Tauke Mawe of Grinnell; Richard M. Krezak of Pella; and Barbara A. Chiles of Aledo, Ill.