The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0007; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

Iowa teachers receive 1997 Distinguished Teacher Awards from UI

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Four Iowa teachers have been selected to receive 1997 Distinguished Teacher Awards from the University of Iowa for their outstanding dedication to their students and their profession.

UI President Mary Sue Coleman will present each recipient with a $1,000 grant to buy equipment and materials for teaching when she visits the award-winners' schools during the first half of 1998.

"The Distinguished Teacher Awards are our way of recognizing the commitment of educators who are vitally important to the future of our young people," Coleman said. "We don't often take the time to let teachers know how much we appreciate and respect the work they do."

Recipients of the 1997 Iowa Distinguished Teacher Awards are:

-- Carol Ann Clayton, sixth-grade teacher, John Adams Middle School in Mason City, Mason City Community School District;

-- Donna Dee Dwyer, kindergarten teacher, Clark Elementary School in Sioux City, Sioux City Community School District;

-- Susan Marie Grabe, second-grade teacher, Prairie Crest Elementary School in Cedar Rapids, College Community School District;

-- Barbara Jean Guss, English teacher, Wilton High School, Wilton Community School District.

The UI has presented the Distinguished Teacher Awards annually since 1984.

The awards were established to honor teachers who have profoundly influenced the lives of their students, particularly in the skills of critical reasoning and clarity of expression. The awards emphasize the UI's commitment to education and its recognition of the interdependence between K-12 and university education.

The awards are co-administered by the UI Office of the Provost and the UI College of Education. Each elementary, junior high school and high school in the state is invited to submit one nominee for the award each year.

Winners are chosen by a committee chaired by Steven R. Yussen, dean of the UI College of Education. Other members are UI faculty and licensed teachers and administrators.