The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0009; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

UI College of Engineering Academy Inducts Two New Members Feb. 28

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The University of Iowa College of Engineering will induct two new members into its Distinguished Engineering Alumni Academy in ceremonies to be held from 10 a.m. to noon, Saturday, Feb. 28 as a part of National Engineers' Week (Feb. 22-28) in the Holiday Inn-Downtown, Iowa City.

The two, who will be honored for their contributions toward personal engineering achievement, leadership, and service to the profession and society, are retired Army Lieutenant General John W. Morris and Richard H. Stanley.

Morris, who received his master of science degree in civil engineering from the University of Iowa in 1948, is the president of J.W. Morris Ltd., a global engineering construction and consulting firm. A member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), he became one of only 31 engineers to receive the NAE's Founders Award in 1996. His 30 years of service with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers included service in World War II and, after further education at the University of Pittsburgh and completion of the military school's program, promotion in 1968 to brigadier general and service in Vietnam.

From 1970 to 1980, Mr. Morris took on a series of public works assignments, leading to his selection as the army's 44th Chief of Engineers in 1976. His assignments included several of great magnitude, such as Lock and Dam 26 on the Mississippi River, the Tennessee Tombigbee Waterway project, and the Saudi Arabian Military Assistance Program. During the 1970s Morris changed the focus of the Corps of Engineers to more environmental objectives. In addition to receiving the first endowed chair in construction management at the University of Maryland, he is an honorary professor at East China Technical University, a trustee of the Association of Graduates of the U.S. Military Academy, and an adjunct professor at the University of Maryland.

In 1977, Engineering News Record named him Construction Man of the Year. He has also received the Defense Meritorious Service Medal, the Army Distinguished Service Award, five Legions of Merit, the National Parks and Recreation Association's Humanitarian of the Year, the Palladium Medal from the Audubon Society, and a Presidential Award for Management from President Lyndon B. Johnson.

Stanley, a native of Muscatine, earned his master of science degree in sanitary engineering from the University of Iowa in 1963 after having previously received bachelor of science degrees in mechanical and electrical engineering from Iowa State University. He currently serves as chairman of the board of Stanley Consultants, Inc.; president of The Stanley Foundation; vice chair of the board of HON Industries, Inc.; and a director of Dover Resources.

Stanley's commitment to his hometown includes the Muscatine Health Support Foundation. In addition to being a founding organizer in 1984, Mr. Stanley has since served as president and director. The organization is a local, grant-making foundation that provides support to community health as well as the growth and development of the Muscatine area medical care system. As president of The Stanley Foundation, his commitment to peace reaches out to the world, as he oversees a private-operating foundation directed toward achieving a secure peace with freedom and justice. The organization encourages the promotion of arms control initiatives and a reformed and strengthened United Nations. Stanley has also served on the Emergency Coalition for U.S. Financial Support of the United Nations and as chairman of the board of the Northeast-Midwest Institute.

Stanley has been awarded the Anson Marston Medal and the Professional Achievement Citation from the College of Engineering, Iowa State University; Senior Engineer of the Year Award from the Quint-Cities Council for National Engineers' Week; Diamond Jubilee Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers; and the John Dunlap-Sherman Woodward, Distinguished Service, Voice of the Engineer, and Herbert Hoover Centennial Awards from the Iowa Engineering Society. The son of UI Distinguished Engineering Alumni Academy charter member C. Maxwell Stanley, he is an international role model of engineering excellence and integrity.

The 1998 ceremony, hosted by Theta Tau, National Professional Engineering Fraternity, celebrates the Academy's third year and brings its membership to 23. Previous members are:

Lilia A. Abron, Mikio Arie, James E. Ashton, David R. Buchanan, Frank Chrencik, Thomas E. Daniels, Richard E. Emmert, Philip G. Hubbard, H. William Lichtenberger, Bingnan Lin, Randall Meyer, Harry F. Olson, Margaret Petersen, William M. Sangster, Gary F. Seamans, Clifford V. Smith, Jr., Robert L. Smith, C. Maxwell Stanley, R. William Van Sant, Himie Voxman, and Darrell D. Wyrick.