The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0044; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

Six faculty are named 1998 Faculty Scholars

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Six University of Iowa faculty members have received 1997 Faculty Scholar Awards to pursue their research. The 1998 recipients and their research areas are:

--Eduardo L. Cadava, English, to complete two books. The first, Traces of Democracy, focuses on writings about the concepts of democracy and citizenship from the Puritan era to the present. The second, Mourning Nations, argues that the formation of a sense of nationality is inevitably involved with acts of death and national mourning.

--Colin Gordon, history, to complete a book on the debate over national health insurance in the United States, from the Progressive Era (1900-1916) to the present.

--Vicki H. Grassian, chemistry, to focus on surface reactions on atmospherically abundant particles such as ice and dust that alter the chemical composition of the atmosphere.

--Joni L. Kinsey, art and art history, to write a book entitled Reframing History: Polyptychs in American Art which explores the phenomenon of multi-paneled painting in the history of American art.

--Alberto M. Segre, management sciences, to explore a new hybrid optimization approach to predicting protein structure, a problem that builds on his previous research in distributed search techniques for mechanized reasoning and combinatorial optimization.

--John M. Wiencek, chemical and biochemical engineering, to learn advanced techniques in x-ray crystallography, a technique for protein structure determination, so that the technique may be implemented for the benefit of all structural biology researchers on campus.

The awards give faculty members the opportunity for creative, extended, and concentrated work on their research. Recipients are released from half of the usual obligations of teaching, advising, and service for three consecutive years. Usually this award takes the form of leave with full pay for one semester of each of three years.

An average of six new Faculty Scholar Awards are given each year. Applications must be approved by the Office of the Provost and then submitted to the Board of Regents for final approval.