The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us
2130 Medical Laboratories
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-8037; fax (319) 335-8034

Release: Immediate

UI College of Nursing faculty receive awards, recognitions

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Several members of the University of Iowa College of Nursing faculty received awards and recognitions recently:

Associate professor M. Kathleen Clark, Ph.D., received a National Institutes of Health Director's Award of $100,000 over two years to study the effects of Depo-Provera on serum estrogen levels and bone density in women who use the drug as a contraceptive. The award permits Clark to conduct a pilot study while preparing her proposal for funding a full-scale investigation of the subject.

Associate professor Connie Delaney, Ph.D., was inducted as a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing at the organization's annual meeting in Acapulco Oct. 31. Fellows are chosen for their "outstanding contributions to the profession through publications, research, professional activities and community service," according to the academy. Delaney chaired the American Nurses Association Nursing Information and Data Set Evaluation Center. She was also elected vice president of the Midwest Nursing Research Society recently.

Associate professor Joann Eland's worldwide web site on cancer pain education for patients, families and nurses was chosen as "web pick of the day" recently by HMS Beagle, an online magazine for biological and medical researchers. HMS Beagle will also catalog the site permanently. Eland's work was also recognized by the journal Oncology Nurses Forum, which called her site "one of the first and best resources for the management of pediatric cancer pain on the Internet."

Professor Rita Frantz, Ph.D., received the Sharon Baronoski Founder's Award for excellence in the field of wound care. Frantz, who is nationally known for her work in prevention and treatment of chronic wounds such as bedsores, accepted the award at the 13th Annual Clinical Symposium on Wound Care in Atlanta Oct. 8.

Associate professor Diane Huber, Ph.D., has been elected treasurer of the Midwest Nursing Research Society and was recently named associate editor of Outcomes Management for Nursing Practice, a professional journal.

Professor Joanne McCloskey, Ph.D., was appointed to the Distinguished Lecturer Committee of Sigma Theta Tau, the nursing profession's international honor society. She was also appointed to the editorial board of Nursing Administration Quarterly, a professional journal.