The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


5 Old Capitol
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-0557; fax (319) 335-0558

Release: Immediate

Six UI professors win Board of Regents Award for Faculty Excellence

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Six University of Iowa faculty members have been named recipients of the 1998 Regents Award for Faculty Excellence. Given by the State Board of Regents, the award honors faculty members for work representing a significant contribution to excellence in public education.

This year's recipients from the UI are:

Nancy C. Andreasen, the Andrew Woods Professor of Psychiatry, College of Medicine, and director of the Mental Health Clinical Research Center at UI Hospitals and Clinics. Andreasen is internationally known for her work in cognitive neuroscience and her brain imaging studies of schizophrenia and other major psychoses. She has received such prestigious honors as election to the Institute of Medicine and its governing Council, chairperson of the Nobel Symposium on Schizophrenia, and the American Psychiatric Association's Research Prize. She teaches introduction to clinical medicine to UI medical students but also has worked with many international students who have come to the UI to learn about her research techniques. She has published more than 370 scholarly papers and is the author of 11 books, including The Broken Brain: The Biological Revolution in Psychiatry (1984) and Introductory Textbook of Psychiatry (1990 and 1994), the latter of which was co-written with UI professor of psychiatry Donald Black. Andreasen is currently editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Psychiatry.

Joseph A. Buckwalter, professor of orthopaedic surgery with the College of Medicine and chief of orthopaedic surgery service, Veterans Administration Medical Center, Iowa City. Buckwalter is a team physician for the University of Iowa football program and also serves as chair of the Athletic Health Services Advisory Committee. He has also served as a unique resource within Iowa for the care of patients with primary musculoskeletal tumors. His interest in teaching has included the development of new teaching and testing methods as well as computer-based education and self-assessment in orthopaedics. His research has produced more than 140 articles, 25 editorials, 80 book chapters, 60 abstracts and six books. He received the highest award in orthopaedic research, the Bristol-Myers Award of Distinguished Achievement in Orthopaedic Research, in 1997 and was elected second president of the American Orthopaedic Association in 1998. He is a past president of the Orthopaedic Research Society and the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery and is currently co-editor in chief of the Journal of Orthopaedic Research.

Greg Carmichael, professor and chair of chemical and biochemical engineering. Carmichael is one of the world's leading authorities on air quality and atmospheric chemistry modeling. His recent work focuses on the impacts of economic development on the Asian environment. As a colleague notes, one of his computer models simultaneously predicts atmospheric pollutant concentrations in China and the effects on human health, ecosystem sustainability, and gross domestic product. He teaches both undergraduate and graduate courses, helped designed the second semester core course required of all engineering freshmen and supervises undergraduate and honors research. He has published more than 120 peer-reviewed research papers, book chapters and monographs and is regularly called upon to serve on groups addressing problems such as atmospheric pollution and acid rain and its effects upon crops and human health. Carmichael is co-founder and co-director of the UI Center for Global and Regional Environmental. He served as chair of the External Review Committee for the College of Liberal Arts (1994-95).

Gerald F. DiBona, professor and vice chair of internal medicine and chief of medical service at the VA Medical Center. DiBona is widely regarded for his research into the neural control of renal function. "He has almost single-handedly elevated our understanding of the interactions between the central nervous system and the kidney from one of complete ignorance to a topic of widely appreciated importance in the regulation of circulation," says a colleague. He published more than 200 scientific papers, and the National Institutes of Health and the Department of Veterans' Affairs have funded his research. Among his awards are the International Society of Hypertension International Award for Research in Hypertension (1994), the William S. Middleton Award for Outstanding Achievement in Biomedical or Behavioral Research (1995), the highest research award from the Veterans Administration, and a Nobel Fellowship from the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, Sweden (1997).

Irwin Levin, professor of psychology and marketing. Levin formerly directed the University's Honors Program and helped expand it from the College of Liberal Arts to a university-wide program. He has directed the psychology department's honors program for 30 years and has coordinated the department's undergraduate studies program for 17 years. He teaches experimental psychology as well as courses on statistics and the psychology of judgment and decision making. He is the co-author of a textbook, Experimental Psychology: Contemporary Methods and Applications (Brown and Benchmark 1995), and has published more than 95 papers and book chapters, many of which were co-authored by graduate and undergraduate students. His awards for teaching include the M.L. Huit Faculty Award (1985) and a Collegiate Teaching Award (1997). The National Science Foundation, National Institute of Mental Health and the U.S. Department of Transportation have funded his research. He was recently elected president of the Judgment and Decision Making Society.

Margery Wolf, professor and chair of women's studies and professor of anthropology. Wolf's academic contributions span the fields of anthropology, women's studies and China studies. She is author of five books on China, including The House of Lim: A Study of a Chinese Farm Family (1968), Women and the Family in Rural Taiwan (1972), Revolution Postponed: Women in Contemporary China (1985), and A Thrice Told Tale: Feminism, Postmodernism, and Ethnographic Responsibility (1992). She was instrumental in organizing the graduate anthropology track in feminist anthropology, the only such program in the country; and was also fundamental in creating the UI's interdisciplinary doctorate program in women's studies. Wolf also teaches undergraduates, and she has contributed to teaching in other ways, such as obtaining funding from the Ford Foundation to bring visiting scholars to UI. She recently completed a term as president of the American Ethnological Society and has served on the executive board of the Association for Feminist Anthropology.