The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0007; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

Search for new UI education dean gets under way

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- A 14-member committee has been appointed to find a new dean of the University of Iowa College of Education, the UI Provost's Office has announced.

The committee, chaired by James Marshall, professor in the Division of Curriculum and Instruction, hopes to have a new dean selected and hired by July 1, 1999.

"We think the deanship is a very attractive job, and we hope that we'll generate interest from some outstanding candidates," Marshall says. "We have had a good dean for the past seven years who has left the College of Education in excellent shape."

"We're looking for a strong leader, a person who has a sense of where the college might go from here," Marshall says. "We're also looking for someone who has a strong understanding of the roles of teaching and research as well as a person with a deep commitment to diversity."

The committee is searching for a successor to Steven R. Yussen, who stepped down this summer to become the dean of the College of Education and Human Development at the University of Minnesota. Richard Shepardson, associate dean for student services, is serving as acting dean.

Marshall says the committee plans to collect a list of applicants and nominees this fall and narrow the search to a handful of potential candidates this winter. Finalists will be brought to campus early in the spring for interviews.

Other members of the committee include:

-- George J. Achrazoglou, coordinator, Learning Resource Center, College of Education;

-- Elizabeth M. Altmaier, professor, Division Psychological and Quantitative Foundations;

-- Robert L. Brennan, director of the Iowa Testing Programs;

-- Susan G. Cline, staff member, Office of Student Services, College of Education;

-- Carolyn Colvin, associate professor, Division of Curriculum and Instruction;

-- Pam Ehly, Iowa City Community School District;

-- David A. Jepsen, professor, Division of Counseling, Rehabilitation and Student Development;

-- Debora L. Liddell, associate professor, Division of Counseling, Rehabilitation and Student Development;

-- Richard K. Miller, dean, College of Engineering;

-- Ernest T. Pascarella, professor, Division of Planning, Policy and Leadership Studies;

-- Leslie B. Sims, dean, Graduate College;

-- Tara Nicole Smith, graduate research assistant in counseling psychology;

-- Steve Thunder-McGuire, associate professor, Division of Curriculum and Instruction.

Nominations, applications and inquiries about the search can be made to James Marshall, professor, Division of Curriculum and Instruction, N276 Lindquist Center, University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa 52240; email: