The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0042; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

Annual tribute to women at the UI to be May 5

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- "A Celebration of Excellence and Achievement Among Women," the University of Iowa's annual tribute to the accomplishments of all women at the university, will be Tuesday, May 5, 4-6 p.m. in the IMU Main Lounge. This program is free and open to the public. The awards program will begin at 5 p.m. with introductory remarks by President Mary Sue Coleman.

Special presentations will include the University of Iowa Distinguished Achievement Award, which this year will be given to Jean Kendall, former director of the Iowa Memorial Union, who retired in January after serving the University for more than 50 years.

The celebration first began when the university gathered in 1982 to award the Jane A. Weiss Memorial Scholarship. This annual event has expanded in scope, recognizing outstanding scholarship, research, service, leadership and activism among undergraduate, graduate, staff, and faculty women at the University of Iowa. The celebration now also includes the awarding of the Jean Y. Jew Women's Rights Award, the Adele Kimm Scholarship, the Ada Johnson/Otilia Maria Fernandez Women's Studies Scholarship, and the Wynonna G. Hubbard Scholarship.

A celebration dinner follows the awards presentation at 6 p.m. Reservations are required for the dinner. Proceeds from the dinner will benefit the Women in Computer Science organization. A different women's group is chosen as the dinner beneficiary each year. Reservations may be made by calling 335-0746.

Women in Computer Science (WICS) was formed to inspire interest in, understanding of, and opportunity for women and minorities in computer science. The group's mission is to promote a supportive environment in which to study and work and to develop an appreciation for the differences each person brings to the field of computer science. WICS organizes seminars, provides tutoring, assists students through computer loans, and promotes mentoring of new students by older students. WICS membership includes both women and men who are students, faculty, staff, and graduates of the department. Former students provide important connections to business and industry. Current students play a key role in WICS as active role models for new college students and for elementary and secondary school students through WICS outreach programs.

In addition to the Distinguished Achievement Award, the following scholarships and awards will be announced at the awards ceremony:

Jane A. Weiss Memorial Scholarship will be awarded to Mary Beth Combs, a graduate student in economics. The scholarship is named in honor of Jane Weiss, an assistant professor of women's studies and sociology at the time of her death in 1981. The award is made to the doctoral student whose dissertation promises to expand understanding of important women's issues. Her dissertation is titled "The Married Women's Property Acts and Wealthholding Patterns of the British Middle-Class, 1851-1901."

Adele Kimm Scholarship will be awarded to Patricia Reid, a graduate student in history. The scholarship began as a bequest from Adele Kimm, in memory of her brother S. Conrad Kimm and his wife Hilda. The scholarship is awarded by the Women's Studies Program.

Ada Johnson/Otilia Maria Fernandez Fellowship will be awarded to Nicole Hayter, an undergraduate student majoring in history. The fellowship is named in honor of two Iowa graduates who are among the first African American and Latina women to be found in university records. The award is given alternate years to an undergraduate or a graduate woman student of color.

Wynonna G. Hubbard Scholarship will be awarded to Elaina Livings, an undergraduate student majoring in pre-business. Established by UI Vice President Emeritus Philip G. Hubbard, in memory of his wife, the award is given each year to an African American woman with a grade-point average of 3.0 or above who demonstrates an unusual interest in thewell-being of others.

Jean Y. Jew Women's Rights Award will be given to Christine H.B. Grant, director of UI Women's Athletics. The award is named for Jean Y. Jew, professor of anatomy, who fought an uphill battle for more than a decade to defend herself against slander and sexual harassment from faculty in her department, a struggle which she ultimately won. Given annually by the Council on the Status of Women and the Women's Resource and Action Center, the award honors a faculty, staff, or student member of the university community who has demonstrated an outstanding effort or achievement in improving the status of women on campus.

University sponsors of "A Celebration of Excellence and Achievement Among Women" are Associate Provost for Health Sciences, Associated University Women, Campus Mail, College of Business Administration, College of Nursing, Council on the Status of Women, Department of Dermatology, Department of Internal Medicine, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Department of Physiology and Biophysics, Engineering Administration, Finance and University Services, IMU Food Services, Information Technology Services, Linda and Rick Maxson, Office of Affirmative Action, Office of the President, Office of the Provost, Office of the Vice President for Research, Opportunity at Iowa, Pre-Vocational Training Program, Printing Department, Rape Victim Advocacy Program, University Libraries, Women in Computer Science, Women in Science and Engineering, Women's Resource and Action Center, and Women's Studies Program.

The awards ceremony will be signed by an American Sign Language interpreter. Babysitting may be provided by volunteers. Please call the Women's Resource and Action Center for more information, 335-1486, by May 1.

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all UI-sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires an accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact Sara Piere in advance at 335-3555.