The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


5 Old Capitol
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-0557; fax (319) 335-0558

Release: Immediate

UI honors students, faculty and alumni at Finkbine Leadership Dinner

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The University of Iowa honored several outstanding students, faculty and an alumnus Tuesday, April 21 at the 81st Anniversary Finkbine Leadership Dinner, one of the most prestigious award ceremonies at the UI.

The event has been held annually since 1917 to honor campus leaders and give them an opportunity to meet administrators, faculty, fellow students and alumni. The dinner is named after William O. Finkbine, a Des Moines businessman and 1880 UI law graduate.

Here is a listing of the awards presented:

Hancher-Finkbine Student Medallion: William Jonathan Cardi, a third-year law student from Morgantown, W.Va.; Chad J. Doellinger, senior philosophy and political science major from Newton; Anthony S. Gabrielson, a senior philosophy major from Vinton; and Scott T. Guenthner, a fourth-year medical student from Centerville.

Hancher-Finkbine Faculty Medallion: James B. Lindberg, associate dean of liberal arts and professor of geography in the College of Liberal Arts. Lindberg has been on the faculty in geography since 1960 and served as chair from 1977-1983. Since 1984 he has been associate dean of academic programs in the College of Liberal Arts.

Hancher-Finkbine Alumni Medallion: Marvin A. Pomerantz, chairman and chief executive officer of The Mid-America Group in West Des Moines and chairman and chief executive officer of Gaylord Container Corporation. He graduated from the UI in 1952 with a bachelor of science degree in commerce. Pomerantz's work on behalf of education in Iowa has included serving as president of the State Board of Regents, chairman of the UI Foundation Board, national chairman of the Iowa Endowment 2000 campaign, and chairman of the Commission on K-12 Educational Excellence for the 21st Century.

The tradition of awarding Hancher-Finkbine medallions began in 1964. The awards, which recognize outstanding leadership, learning and loyalty, are named after Finkbine and Virgil M. Hancher, who served as president of the UI from 1940 to 1964.

Philip G. Hubbard Human Rights Award: John-Paul Chaisson of Iowa City, a graduate student in social work and at-risk youth program/multicultural educational coordinator for the West Liberty School District. The award, which carries a $1,500 award, is presented to a student who has demonstrated outstanding contributions to the UI's commitment to human rights. It was established in 1981 in honor of the long-time UI faculty member and administrator who was one of the faculty members on the first UI Human Rights Committee.

Distinguished Student Leader Certificates: Jacqueline M. Comito, a doctoral student in anthropology from Carroll; Tracy J. Edgerton, third-year law student from Omaha, Neb.; Katharine Larsen of Mason City, who earned her bachelor's degree in global studies in December of 1997, graduating with highest distinction; and Beth P. Peterson of Waltham, Mass., a doctoral student in mathematics.

The Distinguished Student Leader Certificates are given to students who have exhibited leadership, learning and loyalty in their work with fellow students and faculty members.

Robert F. Ray Faculty Representative Award: Justin Pohn of Winnetka, Ill., a senior marketing major who is a member of the UI men's tennis team and has been an All Big Ten selection for four seasons; and Anne West of Waverly, a senior political science major who was team captain and Most Valuable Player of the UI rowing team this year and also earned NCAA All-American honors. The award is presented each year to student-athletes who have completed eligibility and have demonstrated outstanding academic and athletic excellence and leadership.

M.L. Huit Faculty Award: Thomas J. Schmidt, associate professor of physiology and biophysics in the College of Medicine. The M.L. Huit Faculty Award was established in 1978 to recognize Huit's dedication and service to UI students during his tenure as dean of students. The award is presented each year to a faculty member who best characterizes Huit's contributions to university and community life.

James N. Murray Faculty Award: Margaret K. Bass, assistant professor of English in the College of Liberal Arts. The award is given to an untenured faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding rapport with students and who creates an exemplary classroom atmosphere. It is named in honor of the late James N. Murray, UI professor and past chair of political science.