The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


283 Medical Laboratories
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-6660; fax (319) 335-8034

Release: Immediate

College of Medicine faculty members receive honors

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The University of Iowa College of Medicine has announced that two faculty have received notable recognition.

Dr. Robert F. Weir, professor of biomedical ethics, and director of the UI's Program in Biomedical Ethics and Medical Humanities, has been named the first Richard M. Caplan Chair in Biomedical Ethics and Medical Humanities.

Weir, who is also a professor of pediatrics, received his doctorate in religious studies from Princeton University in 1972. He was on the faculty at Oklahoma State University for 15 years before joining the UI faculty in 1988.

Dr. Hanna B.C. Damasio, professor of neurology, has been named a UI Foundation Distinguished Professor.

Also a member of the prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences, director of the UI Laboratory for Neuroimaging and Human Neuroanatomy and co-director of the Division of Cognitive Neuroscience, Damasio's research focuses on the development of imaging techniques to study brain function.

"We are pleased that our professors have received this recognition," says Dr. Richard Nelson, executive associate dean of the College of Medicine. "It is a demonstration of the high quality of our faculty."