The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


UI Foundation News
500 Alumni Center
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-3305

Release: Immediate

UI Foundation announces Wyrick retirement and presidential search plans

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- At the annual fall meeting of the University of Iowa Foundation board of directors, plans were announced for the retirement of the foundation's president of 35 years, Darrell D. Wyrick, and the board was informed of the search process for Wyrick's successor.

Wyrick, who will turn 64 in October, said he will resign as president July 1, 1998, or as soon as a new president is in place, and no later than Dec. 31, 1998. He will continue to serve the foundation as president emeritus, working as a major gifts officer for five years or more, or as requested by the new foundation president.

A presidential search committee appointed by foundation board chairman David J. Fisher of Des Moines met for the first time this week and will likely retain a national executive search firm to aid in the process. The committee is chaired by board and executive committee member Carroll J. Reasoner of Cedar Rapids, who is vice chair of the foundation. Other foundation board members serving on the search committee include John W. English of Summit, N.J.; Charles M. Kierscht of Hinsdale, Ill.; Jill N. McLaughlin of Moline, Ill.; and Nancy B. Willis of Iowa City.

UI search committee members include Ann Rhodes, vice president for university relations; Robert M. Kelch, dean of the College of Medicine; Richard K. Miller, dean of the College of Engineering; and Wallace K. Chappell, director of Hancher Auditorium. Fisher and UI president Mary Sue Coleman will serve as ex officio members.

In other foundation board action, the following officers were reelected for one-year terms: David J. Fisher, chair; Carroll J. Reasoner, vice chair;

Robert W. Verhille, Cedar Rapids, vice chair; Darrell D. Wyrick, Iowa City, president; Michael J. New, Iowa City, vice president for development programs; Alan L. Swanson, Iowa City, vice president for communications and administration, and secretary; and Larry C. Bruse, Iowa City, treasurer.

The following board members were reelected to one-year terms on the board's executive committee: Robert W. Verhille; Jill N. McLaughlin; Carroll J. Reasoner; Marvin C. Pomerantz, Des Moines; and James C. Hanson, Moline, Ill. They will serve with executive committee ex-officio members Coleman and Fisher.

The University of Iowa Foundation was founded in 1956 as the preferred channel for private support to all areas of the university. Foundation staff work with alumni and friends to provide scholarships, professorships, facilities, resources for equipment and technology, and other forms of support. In early 1998, the foundation, UI Alumni Association, and UI Division of Alumni Records and Services will relocate to the UI's new Levitt Center for University Advancement, located just northwest of Hancher Auditorium on the UI campus.