The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us
100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0072; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

Local student plays in the University Symphony at UI

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- (Name) of (hometown), a (class standing) at the University of Iowa, is playing (instrument) in the University Symphony.

The most prestigious of the many student ensembles at the UI School of Music, the University Symphony is filled by audition. The orchestra plays a series of free concerts on the UI campus and on tour, performing works from the standard orchestral repertoire. One of the UI's oldest cultural traditions, these concerts generally fill the lower level of Hancher Auditorium, drawing considerably more than 1,000 people.

The University Symphony also performs one choral-orchestral concert each semester, and for the annual spring production of the UI Opera Theater.

The Symphony gave its first concert of the fall semester Sept. 24. It was also the first concert for new director William LaRue Jones, the successor to Iowa musical legend James Dixon.

The performance, which was free, featured clarinet soloist Maurita Murphy Mead. Four works were on the program: Leonard Bernstein's brilliant and witty Overture to "Candide"; "Memorial to Lidice," written by Czech composer Bohuslav Martinu in memory of a village that was wiped out by the Nazis during World War II; Aaron Copland's virtuoso Clarinet Concerto, with Mead as soloist; and a late-Romantic orchestral favorite, Rachmaninoff's Symphony No. 2.

A UI music alumnus and the founding music director/administrator of the internationally recognized Greater Twin Cities Youth Symphonies of Minneapolis and St. Paul, Minn., Jones came to the UI this fall to direct the University Symphony for the 1997-98 academic year. He replaces Dixon, the director of the orchestra for more than 40 years, who retired at the end of the 1996-97 academic year.

Jones is a highly honored musician, having received the Twin Cities Mayors' Public Art Award, the American String Teachers Association Exceptional Leadership and Merit Award and the David W. Preuss Leadership Award. He has also been selected Musician of the Year by Sigma Alpha Iota , a music honorary society.

Jones has appeared as a guest conductor with the Minnesota Orchestra, the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra, the Sinfonie Orchester AML-Luzern (Switzerland) and other orchestras around the world. He has conducted all-state and festival orchestras in 46 states and five Canadian provinces. He has been conductor-in-residence at the North Carolina School of the Arts and the University of Miami (Fla.).

Additional University Symphony concerts this fall will be at 8 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 22, in Hancher Auditorium; 8 p.m. Wednesday, Nov. 12, in Clapp Recital Hall; and under the direction of William Hatcher, a performance of Handel's Messiah with University Choruses and soloists at 8 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 3, in Hancher Auditorium.

* * *

NOTE TO EDITORS: Receipt of this release indicates that a student from your community or readership area has been chosen to play with the University Symphony at the UI. Students are listed below, alphabetically by hometown, with Iowa towns listed first. Each listing includes the student's name, his/her address, class standing and the instrument he/she plays in the orchestra. Please note that listings are based on information provided by the students.


AMES: Heather Webb, graduate, flute

BETTENDORF: Nina Ko, sophomore, violin

CEDAR FALLS: Anna Graf, graduate, oboe; Andy Liao, sophomore, violin

CEDAR RAPIDS: Jamie Kent, senior, trumpet; Pamela Meier, freshman, violin

CRESTON: Sara Clayton, graduate, flute

DAVENPORT: Marji Gere, freshman, violin; Julia Holst, graduate, bass; Elizabeth Hopp, junior, bass; Lucy Kurylo, junior, viola; Alexandra White, senior, violin

DECATUR: Bradley Palmer, graduate, trombone

DECORAH: Jessica Ferrie, junior, violin

DES MOINES: Sarah Leavengood, junior, bass

ELDRIDGE: Emily Petersen, freshman, bassoon

FORT DODGE: SueAnn Johnson, freshman, violin; Timothy Sievers, senior, percussion

FORT MADISON: Megan McKillip, sophomore, clarinet

GRINNELL: Wes Phillips, sophomore, bass

IOWA CITY: Annelisa Arnone, graduate, violin; Daniel Bray, senior, trombone; Natalie Brown, sophomore, violin; Ellen Gantz, senior, violin; Ching-yuan Hu, sophomore, cello; Don Hughes, senior, trumpet; Gail Mayfield, sophomore, violin; Mick Phipps, senior, bassoon; Joseph Rebik, graduate, percussion; Katie Strang, sophomore, horn; Audrey Young, freshman, violin; Brad Zeithamel, sophomore, violin

KALONA: Tara Novy, graduate, flute

LARCHWOOD: Todd Lippert, sophomore, trombone

MARION: Jason Holden Kellerhals, junior, horn

MASON CITY: Denis Christians, senior, bass

NICHOLS: Steve Schultz, graduate, horn

NORTH LIBERTY: Rochelle Honey, freshman, viola

SHELBY: Alicia Rau, sophomore, trumpet

SOLON: Kristofor Kunkel, sophomore, trumpet

TRAER: Jennifer Yuska, sophomore, clarinet

VINTON: Betsey Zenk, junior, oboe

WATERLOO: Spencer Howard, graduate, violin

WEST DES MOINES: Megan Hanzlik, sophomore, oboe; Katherine Leuck, freshman, viola; Matt Meyer, senior, violin


FAYETTEVILLE: Tineka Ciaravino, graduate, flute


KENSINGTON: Jeanette Welch, graduate, bass


WEST HARTFORD: Rebecca Hooper, junior, bass


JACKSONVILLE: Aaron Ichiro Hilbun, graduate, oboe


BARRINGTON: Shannon Youngs, junior, horn

CARLINVILLE: Thomas Drury, sophomore, violin

CARY: Cormac Cannon, freshman, percussion

EL PASO: Christopher Scheer, sophomore, oboe

ELMHURST: Kathryn Hatmaker, sophomore, violin

LINCOLNWOOD: Hilary Strauch, junior, horn

MOLINE: Patrick Bullock, sophomore, trumpet

OAK PARK: Jolie Chrisman, freshman, oboe

ROCK ISLAND: Krista VanDeVelde, junior, bassoon

ROCKFORD: Anton Hatwich, junior, bass

SLEEPY HOLLOW: Danelle Marle Wozniak, freshman, violin

STERLING: Kenneth Ausman, senior, tuba


CHELSEA: Beth Redding, freshman, violin


BEMIDJI: Jamie Koester, graduate, trumpet

FAIRMONT: Andi Beckendorf, graduate, bass

MINNETONKA: Catherine Cesnik, sophomore, violin

ROCHESTER: Tara Vrabel, junior, violin

SOCORRO: Denise Gilson, sophomore, flute


STARKVILLE: Sonja Feig, graduate, flute


CAMERON: Annette Machetta, masters, clarinet

DES PERES: Meghan Leah Stevenson, freshman, violin

KANSAS CITY: Stephen Sheperd, graduate, violin


ALBUQUERQUE: Amy Jackson, junior, flute


HENRIETTA: Patricia Rolland, graduate, oboe


CHARLOTTE: Kevin Levan Sloan, junior, viola


COLUMBIA: Alison Mann, junior, bass


MIDLAND: Kyle Gassiott, graduate, bass


FAIRFAX: Alice Park, graduate, flute