The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


5 Old Capitol
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-0557; fax (319) 335-0558

Release: Immediate

Faculty and staff to be honored at Sept. 23 University of Iowa convocation

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Awards for faculty and staff excellence in teaching, research and service will highlight the annual University Convocation Tuesday, Sept. 23, at the University of Iowa. The 7:30 p.m. event will be in the Main Lounge of the Iowa Memorial Union and will be followed by a reception on the lounge's sunporch.

The convocation also features an annual address by UI President Mary Sue Coleman, who will speak about the challenge of coping with technological change, especially fast-breaking advances in the management of information.

Robert Wiley, professor of pharmacy and vice president of the UI Faculty Senate, will serve as master of ceremonies. Provost Jon Whitmore will present the faculty awards, assisted by the deans of the colleges. Staff awards will be presented by Douglas K. True, vice president for finance and university services/treasurer; Robert Foldesi, associate vice president and director of human resources; and Kenneth C. Moore, president of the UI Staff Council.

Awards include those for staff excellence, collegiate teaching, faculty scholarships, distinguished professorships, Regents Awards for Faculty Excellence, the Michael J. Brody Awards for Faculty Excellence in Service, and the Mary Jo Small staff fellowships.

The convocation will be preceded by a performance by the Iowa Brass Quintet. Members of the quintet are David Greenhoe and Barbara Deur, trumpet; Kristin Thelander, horn, David Gier, trombone; and Robert Yeats, tuba.

Members of the Convocation Committee are Elizabeth M. Altmaier, associate provost; Debra Ann Borgstahl, Wendy Brown, and Kim Painter, staff members; Moore and Wiley.