The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0009; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

Local Student Wins Engineering Scholarship

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- (Name) of (Hometown), a student majoring in (Major) engineering in the University of Iowa College of Engineering, has been named the winner of a Junior/Senior Engineering Honors Scholarship for the 1997-98 academic year.

The scholarships are awarded on the basis of merit.

EDITOR: Student scholarship winners from Iowa are listed alphabetically by HOMETOWN. Lists of winners from other states and abroad follow the Iowa list. The student's major follows his/her name.


AINSWORTH: Jason E. Trotter, Biomedical, Alexander

ALDEN: Joe F. Zamora, Mechanical, Caywood

AMANA: Timothy J. Arp, Mechanical, Dimond

AMES: William J. Dunlay, Mechanical, McGrath; David D. Kuhl, Mechanical, Dimond

ANKENY: Matthew S. Spinler, Electrical and Computer, Collins; Christopher J. Swanson, Industrial, Stebler

ARTHUR: Tim L. Irwin, Biomedical, Alexander

BETTENDORF: Gregory A. Hockett, Industrial, Higbee

BROOKLYN: Brandon J. Miller, Civil & Environmental, Caywood

CARROLL: Steven M. Haake, Industrial, Square D

CASCADE: Karmen K. Bries, Civil & Environmental, Alexander

CEDAR FALLS: Daniel M. Crowell, Electrical & Computer, Alcoa; Elizabeth A. Pedersen, Chemical Biochemical, Kehn; Neel Sheth, Electrical & Computer, Stebler

CEDAR RAPIDS: Jason A. Buchholz, Electrical & Biochemical, Plumly; Todd E. Miller, Electrical & Computer, IEEE; Austin H. Pham, Mechanical, ALCOA; Vicky Phan, Electrical & Computer, ALCOA; Matthew C. Vincent, Industrial, Clements

CHARITON: Kenneth J. Kauffman, Chemical & Biochemical, Dimond

CHARLOTTE: Scott A. Skoff, Mechanical, ALCOA

CLINTON: Jason R. Smith, Civil & Environmental, Mascagni

CLIVE: Dale C. Kolstad, Civil & Environmental, Alexander

CORNING: Timothy J. Fees, Electrical & Computer, Ware

COUNCIL BLUFFS: Jonathan Fitch, Civil & Environmental, SCE Iowa Section

DANVILLE: Aaron Guffey, Civil & Environmental, Carter

DAVENPORT: Kelley M. Crome, Biomedical, Alexander; Dennis L. Stacer, Electrical & Computer, Collins

DES MOINES: Daniel J. Hanson, Biomedical, McGrath; Sarah L. Schroeder, Civil & Environmental, Dimond

DEWAR: Kenneth C. Pfiffner, Mechanical, ALCOA

DUBUQUE: Jeffrey G. Brass, Mechanical, ALCOA; James A. Connelly, Biomedical, Clements; Michelle L. Hillary, Chemical & Biochemical, 3M; Jason M. Imhof, Civil & Environmental, McGrath; Grant W. Robbins, Mechanical, ALCOA

DURANT: Shawna M. Fitzer, Mechanical, Higbee

EDGEWOOD: Amy A. Anderegg, Biomedical, Poston

FORT MADISON: Mark Holtkamp, Civil & Environmental, Iowa Eng. Assn.

GRINNELL: James D. Davoux, Chemical & Biochemical, Higbee; Amanda J. Schmitt, Electrical & Computer, Alexander

HARLAN: Jennifer Petsche, Civil & Environmental, Hunt

HONEY CREEK: Sabrina Firmature, Mechanical, Monsanto

INDEPENDENCE: Sanjay B. Dave, Biomedical, Stebler

IOWA CITY: Mohammed A. Asem, Electrical & Computer, ALCOA; Danny L. Bell, Civil & Environmental, Alexander; Jiong Fan, Electrical & Computer, Stebler; Justin J. Paul, Chemical & Biochemical, Caywood; Jefri Subieta, Mechanical, 3M

JOHNSTON: Matthew M. Warren, Chemical & Biochemical, Alexander

KNOXVILLE: Charles B. Gullion, Electrical & Computer, Collins

LEMARS: Jason M. Konz, Mechanical, ALCOA; Martin R. Bohnenkamp, Biomedical, Caywook

MANCHESTER: Michael J. Fiddelke, Industrial, Knowler

MAQUOKETA: Tred L. Schnoor, Civil & Environmental, Alexander

MARSHALLTOWN: Amrut V. Ambardekar, Biomedical, Pierce

MASON CITY: Brent A. Bergan, Electrical & Computer, Caywood

MUSCATINE: Valerie K. McCulley, Industrial, Alexander; Alan L. Miller, Chemical & Biochemical, Lichtenberger; Adrienne M. Radtke, Biomedical, Clements; Timothy A. Schmitt, Mechanical, Alexander

NASHUA: Ted L. Hansen, Mechanical, Clements

NEWTON: Suzanne R. Combs, Mechanical, Alexander

OTTUMWA: Elizabeth A. Black, Electrical & Computer, ALCOA

PARKERSBURG: Johathan F. Mansheim, Mechanical ALCOA

PRESTON: James M. Frett, Mechanical, Square D

PRINCETON: Ryan J. Blodig, Mechanical, Plumly

RIVERSIDE: Heath A. Thomann, Electrical & Computer, Telecomm

SAC CITY: Scott M. Seieroe, Electrical & Computer, Alexander

SPENCER: Jacob L. Wagner, Biomedical, Alexander

SPRINGVILLE: William D. Bedell, Mechanical, Mascagni

STORM LAKE: Jason M. Dierking, Biomedical, Dimond

TITONKA: Caleb J. Krantz, Mechanical, Deere

URBANDALE: Benhamin J. Hicks, Electrical & Computer, ALCOA; Jeffrey A. Stonehocker, Chemical & Biochemical, Dimond

WATERLOO: Thomas J. Nagle, Civil & Environmental, Poston

WAVERLY: Nicholas J. Taiber, Industrial, Alexander

WEBSTER CITY: Douglas Bottorff, Civil & Environmental, Summers

WEST BRANCH: Michael J. Schnieders, Biomedical, Scholz

WEST DES MOINES: Blake L. Carlson, Electrical & Computer, ALCOA; Robert L. Hofer, Electrical & Computer, Collins; Vuong Q. Nguyen, Mechanical, Stebler; Seth J. Romig, Civil & Environmental, Hydroscience Research (and) James Shive Hydroscience

WEST UNION: Andrew D. Olson, Electrical & Computer, 3M

WINFIELD: Tony Moyers, Electrical & Computer, Alexander


TUCSON: Jennifer, M. McMahon, Civil & Environmental, Dimond


CHICAGO: Steven C. Mitchell, Electrical & Computer, Collins

DUNDEE: Jeanne Y. Peacock, Chemical & Biochemical, Stebler

HANOVER PARK: Brandy L. Biggs, Industrial, Fiskars

MILAN: Debra K. Mathias, Civil & Environmental, Dimond

MORTON: Greg A. Dils, Electrical & Computer, Collins

NAPERVILLE: Rebecca L. Rose, Chemical & Biochemical, Alexander

ROCK ISLAND: Rhonda Burrell, Chemical & Biochemical, Monsanto

ROCKFORD: Andrew H. Berthusen, Biomedical, Caywood; Christopher Burns, Electrical & Computer, Higbee

SYCAMORE: Kurt L. Schlawin, Chemical & Biochemical, Caywood (and) ALCOA

TAYLORVILLE: Amanda E. Ennis, Mechanical, Stebler (and) Deere


EAGAN: Sarah L. Anderson, Biomedical, Alexander

ROCHESTER: Michael W. Larson, Biomedical, Higbee


ST. LOUIS: Katherine L. Redford, Biomedical, Clark


BIG SKY: Kimberly A. Borke, Biomedical, Alexander


RAPID CITY: Melanie S. Howard, Chemical & Biochemical, Clements


COLLIERVILLE: Daniel R. Berger, Electrical & Computer, ALCOA


BROOKFIELD: Kimberley J. Evason, Biomedical, Dimond

CUBA CITY: Christopher D. Wiederholt, Electrical & Computer, Stebler

MADISON: Steven D. Erikson, Biomedical, Dimond

NAPERVILLE: Christopher D. Smyser, Biomedical, Caywood

VERONA: Michael L. Sileo, Electrical & Computer, Collins

WAUWATOSA: Matthew R. Wanat, Chemical & Biochemical, McGrath


BRITISH COLUMBIA, CANADA: Tolstoy M. Patel, Electrical & Computer, Clements

MALAYSIA: Lee-Ling Ang, Chemical & Biochemical, Alexander; Wai S. Leyu, Industrial, Kehn; Seow C. Nah, Biomedical, Alexander; Yuh Wen Seah, Biomedical, McGrath; Mei Mei Toh, Industrial, Dimond

PONCE, PUERTO RICO: Vilmarie Penson, Biomedical, Alexander

TEL-AVIV, ISRAEL: Ephrat Most, Biomedical, FA: L. Knowler

TURKEY: Ugur A. Ozturk, Industrial, Clements

ZAMBIA: Tony M. Thampan, Chemical & BiochemIcal, Stebler