The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-00011; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

UI history department celebrates faculty members' new books

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- While displaced from their cozy old Shaeffer Hall offices during the recent renovations, members of the University of Iowa department of history were still plugging away on a variety of book projects.

Now that they've returned to their renovated space in Shaeffer, the department will celebrate the work of faculty who completed books during the last three years with a book party Sept. 12 from 3:30-5 p.m. in the Shaeffer Hall Commons Room, located on the third floor.

More than 25 books were published by faculty--current, visiting and emeriti-- during 1995-97, including a book by Alan Spitzer, emeritus professor, Historical Truth and Lies About the Past: Reflections on Dewey, Dreyfus, de Man, and Reagan (University of North Carolina Press, 1996), which marks the culmination of Spitzer's long career at the UI.

The department's newest faculty member, Douglas C. Baynton, published Forbidden Signs: American Culture and the Campaign Against Sign Language (University of Chicago Press, 1996); Leslie Schwalm published her first book, "A Hard Fight for We": Women's Transition from Slavery to Freedom in Low Country South Carolina (University of Illinois Press, 1997); and Linda Kerber published a collection of her essays Toward an Intellectual History of Women (University of North Carolina Press, 1997).

Other faculty members and visiting faculty whose books will be celebrated are: Mitchell Ash, David Arkush, Kenneth Cmiel, Peter Green, Charles Hale, Henry Horwitz, Benjamin Kaplan, Susan Lawrence, Deirdre McCloskey, Malcolm Rohrbough, David Schoenbaum, Shelton Stromquist, and Katherine Tachau.