The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0030; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

Correction: 5/12 Release-Kerber Selected For National Phi Beta Kappa Award

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- University News Services incorrectly identified the number of University of Iowa faculty chosen as Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholars in a press release issued Monday, May 12.

Linda K. Kerber, May Brodbeck Professor in the Liberal Arts and professor of history, has been named a Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholar for 1997-98.

Previous honorees include:

-- Deirdre McCloskey, John F. Murray Professor of Economics and professor of history, selected for 1993-94.

-- Burns H. Weston, Bessie Dutton Murray Professor of Law and associate dean for International and Comparative Legal Studies in the UI College of Law, selected for 1994-95.

The national headquarters of Phi Beta Kappa selects only a handful of scholars nationwide each year as visiting scholars.

Honorees make a series of visits to several universities across the country to participate in classroom lectures and seminars, meet informally with faculty and student groups and give at least one public address at each institution.