The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0011; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

UI Honors students receive Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- University of Iowa undergraduates Jennifer Lynn Meyer and Michael J. Schnieders have been named Goldwater Scholars for the 1997-98 academic year. The Goldwater scholarships cover the cost of tuition, fees, books and room and board for up to $7,500, depending on student need in each category.

There were 282 scholarships awarded to sophomores and juniors nationwide. Meyer and Schnieders were selected on the basis of academic merit from a field of 1,164 mathematics, science and engineering students who were nominated by the faculties of colleges and universities.

Meyer and Schneiders are members of the UI Honors Program. David Klemm, the program director, nominated four UI students and said the nominations and the scholarships go to students with strong academic and research backgrounds. Meyer and Schnieders each plan to earn a doctorate.

A graduate of Hempstead High School in Dubuque, Meyer is a junior majoring in microbiology and chemistry and has been conducting research in a UI microbiology lab since September 1995. In her career as a microbiologist, she aspires to make discoveries in the area of childhood illness and disease.

Schnieders is a graduate of West Branch High School. A junior majoring in pre-medicine and biomedical engineering, he has been a laboratory assistant for the UI Central Microscopy Research Facility and was involved in the study of the biochemical progression of osteoarthritis. He is now a participant in the Howard Hughes Undergraduate Research Program in the Orthopaedic Biomechanics Lab.

The Goldwater Foundation is a federally owned agency established in 1986. The scholarship program honoring Sen. Barry M. Goldwater was designed to foster and encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, the natural sciences and engineering. The scholarship is one of the premier awards in these fields.