The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0008; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

UI scholarships recognize farm community students

(EDITORS NOTE: Receipt of this release indicates a college student from your readership has received a University of Iowa scholarship. Students are listed alphabetically by hometown. Included are the parents' names and each student's year in school and major.)

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The dean of the University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts, Judith P. Aikin, has announced the winners of the George F. Schaeffer Scholarships.

The $1,000 scholarships are awarded each spring to outstanding undergraduate science majors who are from Iowa farming communities.

The winners are as follows:

BELLEVUE: Chris Mathew Hunter, son of Sheila and Mike Hunter,

junior, science education

GRISWOLD: Shelly Marie Bierbaum, daughter of Dwight and Charlette Bierbaum,

sophomore, speech/hearing science and exercise science

MORAVIA: Jill Rae Prater, daughter of Philip Prater,

sophomore, pre-exercise science and pre-medicine

ORIENT: Dennis P. Crall, son of Cheryl and Denny Crall,

sophomore, computer science

PALO: Dominic Gerard Morio, son of Marcia and Richard Morio,

sophomore, pre-exercise science and pre-medicine