The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


CONTACT: Patricia Harris
283 Medical Laboratories
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-8037

Release: Immediate

College of Medicine honors faculty accomplishments at Faculty Celebration

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The College of Medicine will honor its outstanding faculty members at the Second Annual College of Medicine Faculty Celebration to be held today.

The highlight of the event will be the presentation of two special awards - the Dr. John P. Long Teaching Award in the Basic Sciences and the Dr. Ernest O. Theilen Clinical Teaching and Service Award.

The Dr. John P. Long award will be given to Dr. Ronald A. Bergman, professor of anatomy. Bergman has become known in the College of Medicine as an outstanding teacher and mentor to students and colleagues. He is noted for his work in anatomic variation and cross-sectional anatomy. The award is named after a former administrator in the College of Medicine - Long served many years on behalf of the basic sciences, the College of Medicine and the UI in general.

The Dr. Ernest O. Theilen award will be given to Drs. William Bell, professor of pediatrics and neurology and director of the Division of Child Neurology; and Donald Brown, professor of internal medicine. Bell is noted as a national leader in clinical neurology and as an excellent teacher of the subject among his students. Brown teaches one of the most wide-ranging courses in the College of Medicine, "Introduction to Clinical Medicine," and works regularly with physicians throughout the state through consultation and teaching. The award is named for a vocal advocate of the College of Medicine.

Other faculty members to be recognized at the event include three recently admitted to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. They are Dr. Francois Abboud, Edith King Pearson Professor and Head, Department of Internal Medicine; Dr. Antonio Damasio, Maurice Van Allen Professor and Head, Department of Neurology; and Dr. Hanna Damasio, professor of neurology. Dr. Antonio Damasio will also be recognized for his recent admission into the prestigious Neurosciences Research Program.