The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0010; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

Local student named to Omicron Delta Kappa

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- (Name) of (hometown), is one of the 33 University of Iowa seniors who has been initiated as a member of Omicron Delta Kappa, a national honors and leadership organization during spring 1997-98.

Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) recognizes superior scholarship, leadership and exemplary character among its student members. With more than 245 chapters at campuses throughout the nation, membership is a mark of highest distinction and honor for students. ODK was the first college honor society of a national scope to give recognition for meritorious leadership and service in extracurricular activities and to encourage development of general campus and community citizenship.

Student members of the organization, while maintaining high academic standards, are also heavily involved in community and campus activities ranging from athletics to hospital volunteer support.

The UI chapter with more than 1,100 alumni members will be celebrating its 50th anniversary during the 1997-98 academic year.

EDITORS: Receipt of this release indicates that a UI student in your readership area has been selected to join Omicron Delta Kappa at the UI. Students are listed alphabetically by hometown with Iowa students listed first.

 AGENCY:  Stephanie Anne Schmid, 9897 Old Agency Road
 AMES:  Shaly Seecharran, 3316 Ontario St.
 ANKENY:  Heather Mae Nichols, 8827 N.E. 29th St.
 BETTENDORF:  Soraya Dee Asadi, 5057 Crestview Heights Drive
 CEDAR RAPIDS:  Janelle Lynn Johnson, 2607 Westwood Drive N.W
 DAVENPORT:  Gerald Lee Jacobs, 805 Park Lane
 FAIRFIELD:  Lori Yvonne Brown, 309 East Monroe
 INDIANOLA:  Ginger Ellen Nicol, 405 West Salem Ave.
 KNOXVILLE:  Jennifer Amanda Blair, 1102 East Competine
 MASON CITY:  Kari Lyn Karsjens, 64 Mission Drive
 MECHANICSVILLE:  Michele Marie Farrington, 716 125th St.
 NEW SHARON:  Paul T. Renaud, 1245 Fisher Ave.
 PERRY:  Anne Elizabeth Walstrom, 354 332nd Place
 RED OAK:  Jesse Ellis Templeton, 2001 Sunnyslope
 REMSEN:  Shana Sue Wingert, 509 Cleveland St.
 VINTON:  Anthony Steven Gabrielson, 1827 56th St.

 COLONA:  Joel Jonathan Imel, 321 Sullivan Drive
 HILLSDALE:  Erin L. McGee, 29922 108th Ave. N.
 NAPERVILLE:  Susan Irene Hungness, 1437 N. Washington St.;
   Nancy Nora Josif, 415 E. Franklin Ave.
   Jennifer Elaine Schmitt, 1005 Honest Pleasure
 OAK FOREST:  Claudia Theresa Gonzales, 5818 Stuart Lane
 ORLAND PARK:  Jessica Anne Zuzga, 8248 W. 141st St.
 ROCKFORD:  Craig Allan Stevens, 6420 Penguin Drive
 ST. CHARLES:  Christine Ann Kubitz, 5N659 Creekview Lane
 TAYLORVILLE:  Amanda Elisa Ennis, 3012 Lincoln Trail
 WINNETKA:   Justin Sinclair Pohn, 978 Spruce St.

 VADNAIS HEIGHTS:   Scott Anthony Mikesell, 3900 McMenemy

 LINCOLN:  Erin Jeanne Gentry, 2816 Sheridan Bldv.

  YANKTON:  Elizabeth Ann Collison, 2303 Burleigh

 PASADENA:  Grace Chuan Lee, 4211 Armand View Drive

 WAUKESHA:  Jennifer Elizabeth Kiciak, 1143 Wisteria Lane