The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0048; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

UI comparative literature graduate receives 1996 Spriestersbach dissertation award

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Claire Fox, who earned a doctorate in comparative literature in 1995 from the University of Iowa, has been awarded the 1996 D.C. Spriestersbach Dissertation Prize for excellence in research.

As the 16th recipient of the UI Graduate Council's highly coveted prize, Fox received $2,500 and a certificate for her accomplishment. Winners of the Spriestersbach Prize also become the UI nominee for the Council of Graduate Schools Dissertation Prize, a national award. Two doctoral recipients, David Lasocki of music and Matthew P. Anderson of physiology and biophysics, have won that national competition in recent years.

Fox's winning dissertation, is "The New Border Establishing Shots: Aesthetics and Politics in the Era of North American Free Trade."

Fox is currently assistant professor of Latin American Literature and Culture in the department of Spanish and Portuguese at Stanford University. While a doctoral student at the UI, Fox was a research assistant and a teaching assistant in the program in comparative literature and a teaching assistant in Spanish and Portuguese. She was also a visiting research fellow at the Center for InterAmerican and Border Studies at the University of Texas at El Paso.

Fox has authored a number of articles published in scholarly journals and received the Luce/ACLS Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship in American Art in 1992, the Mellon Fellowship in Humanities in 1986, and an Iowa Fellowship at The University of Iowa in 1986.

Funds for the D.C. Spriestersbach Dissertation Prize are provided by the UI Foundation. The prize is awarded annually in one of four broad disciplinary areas: humanities and fine arts, mathematical and physical studies, social sciences, and biological sciences. Competition in each area occurs every four years.

The award is named for D.C. Spriestersbach, UI vice president emeritus for educational development and research and former dean of the graduate college. The competitive award requires "highly original work that is an unusually significant contribution to the nominee's field."