The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0009; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

UI Announces 1997 Faculty Scholar Awards

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Four University of Iowa faculty members have received 1997 Faculty Scholar Awards to pursue research in fields ranging from physics and astronomy to English.

The awards give faculty members the opportunity to conduct creative, extended, and concentrated work on their research. Recipients are released from half of the usual obligations of teaching, advising, and service for three consecutive years. Usually, this award takes the form of leave with full pay for one semester of each of three years.

An average of six new faculty scholar awards are given each year. Applications must be approved by the Office of the Provost and then submitted to the Board of Regents for final approval.

The 1997 recipients and their research areas are:

* Amitava Bhattacharjee, professor of physics and astronomy, to develop a theoretical research effort, involving analytical theory and computer simulation in dusty plasma physics, to enhance and support the experimental effort at Iowa.

* Sue Hettmansperger, professor of art and art history, to produce artwork that synthesizes interconnections between science and art as they affect the cultural

world-view. The results will be published in a comprehensive exhibit at A.I.R. Gallery in New York City and will be disseminated in Iowa through lectures.

* Kevin Kopelson, associate professor of English, to complete his third book, "The Queer Afterlife of Vaslar Nijinsky," which will be published by Stanford University Press, and to begin his fourth book, "Finishing Proust."

* Irith Pomeranz, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering, to develop procedures and software tools in three areas of testing and verification of digital electronic circuits in collaboration with design and test groups in industry and with researchers in academia.