The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0008; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

Research awards given to 32 UI faculty, staff

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Some 32 University of Iowa faculty and staff members have won awards from the UI's Central Investment Fund for Research Enhancement (CIFRE). The fund offers assistance to scholars and researchers in developing new initiatives and in facilitating pilot projects that may make their applications for outside research grants more competitive.

CIFRE provides support of up to $10,000 to tenure-track faculty and to research scientists of any rank in all areas of the university. Preference is given to applicants in the early stages of their careers.

Applications are reviewed by an advisory committee to the Office of the Vice President for Research in one of four areas: the arts and humanities, the biological sciences, the physical and mathematical sciences and the social sciences. The final decision on awards is made by Vice President for Research David Skorton.

The 1996-97 winners, their area of study, and award amount are:

Lee-Ann Allen, associate, internal medicine, $10,000

Mary Aquilino, assistant professor, nursing, $10,000

Chi-Lien Cheng, assistant professor, biological sciences, $10,000

Corey Cleland, adjunct assistant professor, physiology and biophysics, $8,320

Karen Cocco, assistant professor, counselor education, "$10,000

Sarah Farmer, assistant professor, history, $3,500

Joseph Frankel, professor, biological sciences, $10,000

Lawrence Fuortes, associate professor, preventive medicine and environmental health, $10,000

Lois Geist, assistant professor, internal medicine, $7,398

Colin Gordon, associate professor, history, $5,854

Linda Hayward, associate research scientist, internal medicine, $4,423

Steven Hendrix, professor, biological sciences, $7,490

Lynn Johnson, assistant professor, oral pathology, $8,650

Anton Kruger, postdoctoral associate, Iowa Institute of Hydraulic Research, $8,669

Vijay Kumar, assistant professor, pharmacy, $10,000

David Kusner, assistant professor, internal medicine, $10,000

Kevin Leicht, associate professor, sociology, $7,656

Barcey Levy, assistant professor, family practice, $10,000

Steven Luck, assistant professor, psychology, $8,297

Jeffrey Marshall, associate professor, mechanical engineering, $9,998

Yannick Meurice, associate professor, physics and astronomy, $8,828

John Nason, assistant professor, biological sciences, $10,000

Jodie Plumert, associate professor, psychology, $10,000

Balkrishna Ramkumar, assistant professor, electrical and computer engineering, $9,725

Mary Hall Reno, associate professor, physics and astronomy, $8,280

Allen Roberts, professor, anthropology, $10,000

Richard Sjolund, associate professor, biological sciences, $7,400

Michael Thomas, assistant professor, internal medicine, " $10,000

Kenneth Volk, assistant research scientist, internal medicine, $7,313

Stuart Weinstein, professor, orthopaedic surgery, $8,100

Neal Weintraub, assistant professor, internal medicine, $10,000

Mark Young, assistant professor, chemistry, $10,000