The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0011; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

UI's Vaughan inducted into Iowa Insurance Hall of Fame

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Emmett J. Vaughan, a University of Iowa business professor and administrator who is internationally known for his work on risk management, has been inducted as one of 10 charter members into the Iowa Insurance Hall of Fame.

Vaughan, Partington Professor of Insurance at the UI College of Business Administration and dean of the UI Division of Continuing Education, was formally inducted at a ceremony Thursday, April 24 in Des Moines.

The selection recognizes Vaughan's contributions to helping make Iowa one of the leading insurance centers in the world.

Information about Vaughan and the nine other inductees will also be included in a new multimedia exhibit showcasing the insurance industry. The exhibit was scheduled to open April 24 at the Iowa Historical Building, 600 E. Locust St., in Des Moines.

Vaughan is the author of more than 15 books, including "Fundamentals of Risk and Insurance," one of the most widely used college textbooks on insurance in the country, as well as more than 200 scholarly articles on insurance, risk management and insurance agency management. His most recent book is "Risk Management: The Art and the Science" (1997).

An internationally known expert, Vaughan is frequently asked to lecture on insurance and risk management issues in the United States and abroad. He is one of only two Americans inducted into the Japanese Risk Management Society.

Joining the UI business faculty in 1963, Vaughan has served as director of the UI Institute for Insurance Education and Research and also has served as associate dean and as interim dean of the College of Business Administration.

He was named dean of the Division of Continuing Education in 1985.

Vaughan holds a doctorate in economics and insurance from the University of Nebraska.