The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0007; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

Local schools earn accreditation from school improvement group

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Four Iowa schools have been accredited by and granted initial membership to the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, a school improvement organization whose state office is located at the University of Iowa College of Education.

Colfax-Mingo Middle School of the Colfax-Mingo School District; Bettendorf Middle School of the Bettendorf Community School District; and Dike Elementary School and New Hartford Elementary-Junior High School, both of the Dike-New Hartford Community School District, were approved for membership at NCA's annual meeting April 8.

NCA is a voluntary association representing more than 8,000 schools in a 19-state region of the central United States. Member schools commit themselves to conforming to higher standards through the processes of school accreditation and continuous school improvement activities.

NCA is one of six regional accrediting agencies sanctioned by the U.S. Department of Education to accredit schools and institutions of higher learning. The organization was founded in 1895 and granted accreditation for the first time to an Iowa school in 1904.

Currently, 337 schools in Iowa are accredited by NCA.

For more information, contact Gary Currie, state director of NCA/Iowa, 438 North Lindquist Center, University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa 52242; (319) 335-5375.