The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


5 Old Capitol
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-0548

Release: Immediate

Capitol volunteers honored

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Some 50 volunteers who serve at the Old Capitol Museum were honored at the 21st annual recognition reception April 23.

Special recognition for their contributions during the sesquicentennial events was given to Becky Allgood, Dorothy and Clarence Haverkamp, Kelly Johnson,

Alison Dirks, Jeanine Redlinger, Erin Gaither, Megan Brus, Mary Lou Wilson, Arthur Canter, and Terry Smothers.

Recognition for their continuing support and faithful service to Old Capitol was given to Miriam Canter for contributing more than 2,500 hours; Phyllis Evans for contributing more than 2,000 hours; Helen Ford, Trudy Riley and Doris White for contributing more than 1,500 hours; and Alice Sutton for achieving 1,500 hours. The 1,000-hour award was given to Helen Phelan. Past recipients of this award are Nancy Powers and Vilda Sutherlin.

Also included on the Roll of Honor with more than 500 volunteer hours are Judy Brookhaus, Lucile Floyd, Ilene Greenwood, Jane Huit, Irene Kortanek, and Pauline Wright.

Jennifer Winter and Karen Anderson received the 100-hour pin.

Volunteers have contributed 78,000 hours in welcoming more than 545,000 visitors since the museum opened in 1976.