The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


283 Medical Laboratories
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-9585; fax (319) 335-8034

Release: Immediate

Niebyl and Robinson elected into scholarly society

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Two University of Iowa College of Medicine faculty members have been elected members of the Johns Hopkins Society of Scholars.

Dr. Jennifer Niebyl, professor and head of obstetrics and gynecology, and

Dr. Robert Robinson, Paul W. Penningroth Professor and head of psychiatry, will be among the 15 new inductees into the society during ceremonies Wednesday, May 21 in Baltimore.

Established in 1967 by Johns Hopkins University trustees, the society honors its distinguished former postdoctoral fellows. There are about 300 members.

Niebyl served on the Johns Hopkins faculty from 1974-1988, during which time she was director of maternal-fetal medicine. She came to the UI in 1988. Robinson served as a resident and later a faculty member at Johns Hopkins from 1975-1990, when he accepted a position at the UI.