The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


5 Old Capitol
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-0557; fax (319) 335-0558

Release: Immediate

Three UI students named winners of George L. Droll award

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Three University of Iowa students have been named winners of the 1997 George L. Droll award, given to exemplary residence hall students. The winners are Kerry Boyd, a freshman global studies major from Marshalltown; Oubonh Phomvisay, a freshman from Perry who plans to major in journalism and theatre arts; and Tisa Thomsen, a freshmen from Marion who is a pre-social work major.

Recipients of the award are chosen based on their commitment to good citizenship and their contributions to establishing a positive residence hall community. Each of this year's award winners will have $1,000 credited to their UI account to be used toward their residence hall room and board expenses when they return to the halls for the 1997-98 academic year.

The award is given in memory of George Droll, director of UI residence services from 1980 until his death in 1995. Droll, who joined UI residence services in 1960, devoted his career to enhancing the living and learning environment in the residence hall system.

"George would be very pleased at the selection of these award winners," said Nancy Droll, his widow. "He really just wanted a good, all-around resident, a good citizen of the halls. He was extremely pleased that this award was set up in his name That was very special to him."