The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0030; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

(Note to media: The senators are not expected to comment on the meetings. The Big Ten presidents' comments will focus on the opportunity to exchange ideas and solicit advice on building support for higher education. The Big Ten presidents attending will be available for comment at approximately 3 p.m. (Iowa time) outside Room 728 of the Hart Senate Building. Following the event, President Coleman may be reached for questions at her hotel between 4 p.m. and 5 p.m. (Iowa time) at 202-789-1234; also available to comment on the meeting will be UI Associate Vice President for Research Derek Willard who can be reached at 202-543-6000.)

Big Ten Presidents To Meet With Senators Lott And Jeffords

WASHINGTON -- A delegation of Big Ten university presidents, including the University of Iowa's Mary Sue Coleman, will meet tomorrow afternoon (Tuesday, April 15) with Senate Majority Leader Trent Lott, R-Miss., and Senate Labor and Human Resources Committee Chairman James Jeffords, R-Vt.

After private discussions with the senators, Coleman will be available outside Jeffords' office to answer questions from the media and offer comments on the meetings.

The delegation is seeking to open a dialogue and share information on issues related to research at Big Ten universities and to the accessibility of higher education. The delegation will also solicit advice from these congressional leaders on ways to make a stronger case for research and student aid. The meetings were arranged with the assistance of Senator Dan Coats, R-Ind.

In addition to Coleman, university presidents and chancellors participating in the discussions include: Henry Bienen, president, Northwestern University; Lee Bollinger, president, University of Michigan; Myles Brand, president, Indiana University; Gordon Gee, president, The Ohio State University; Nils Hasselmo, president, University of Minnesota; James J. Stukel, president, University of Illinois; and David Ward, chancellor, University of Wisconsin-Madison.