The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


5 Old Capitol
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-0557; fax (319) 335-0558

Release: Immediate

EDITORS: A student from your readership/audience area is one of those honored at the awards dinner described in this release. Names of the students and their hometowns are underlined.

UI honors students, faculty and alumni at Finkbine Leadership Dinner

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The University of Iowa honored several outstanding students, faculty and an alumna Tuesday, April 8, at the 80th anniversary Finkbine Leadership Dinner, one of the most prestigious award ceremonies at the UI.

The event has been held annually since 1917 to honor campus leaders and give them an opportunity to meet administrators, faculty, fellow students and alumni. The dinner is named after William O. Finkbine, a Des Moines businessman and 1880 UI law graduate.

Here is a listing of the awards presented:

Hancher-Finkbine Student Medallion: Latonia Haney of Omaha, Neb., a senior finance major with an emphasis in accounting; Robin Hawkins of St. Charles, Ill., who graduated in December 1996 with a degree in English and a teaching certificate with honors from the College of Education; and Marta Hemmingson of LeMars, a fourth year medical student.

Hancher-Finkbine Faculty Medallion: William R. Grigsby, professor of periodontics in the College of Dentistry.

Hancher-Finkbine Alumni Medallion: Carroll J. Reasoner, attorney and senior partner with Shuttleworth and Ingersoll, P.C., of Cedar Rapids. She received a bachelor's degree in philosophy from the UI in 1973 and a J.D. in 1976. She is currently vice chair of the Board of Directors of the University of Iowa Foundation.

The tradition of awarding Hancher-Finkbine medallions began in 1964. The awards, which recognize outstanding leadership, learning and loyalty, are named after Finkbine and Virgil M. Hancher, who served as president of the UI from 1940 to 1964.

Philip G. Hubbard Human Rights Award: Julie Yuki Ralston, a third -year law student from Davenport. The award, which carries a $1,500 award, is presented to a student who has demonstrated outstanding contributions to the UI's commitment to human rights. It was established in 1981 in honor of the long-time UI faculty member and administrator who was one of the faculty members on the first UI Human Rights Committee.

Distinguished Student Leader Certificates: Chad Doellinger of Newton, a senior philosophy and political science major; Gregory Hanson of Waukee, a senior biology major and Spanish minor; Jason Jameson of Minden, Neb., a fourth-year medical student; Heather Kramer of Aplington, a senior majoring in political science and Spanish; and Julie Yuki Ralston of Davenport, a third-year law student.

The Distinguished Student Leader Certificates are given to students who have exhibited leadership, learning and loyalty in their work with fellow students and faculty.

Robert F. Ray Faculty Representative Award: Peter Masucci of Matawan, N.J., a senior finance major and member of the Hawkeye gymnastics team who performed in the all-around event; and Jennifer McMahon of Tucson, Ariz., a senior civil engineering major who earned second team All Big Ten honors in 1996 as a pitcher for the Hawkeye softball team. The award is presented each year to student-athletes who have completed eligibility and have demonstrated outstanding academic and athletic excellence and leadership.

M.L. Huit Faculty Award: Kenneth Mobily, professor of sport, health, leisure and physical studies. The M.L. Huit Faculty Award was established in 1978 to recognize Huit's dedication and service to UI students during his tenure as dean of students. The award is presented each year to a faculty member who best characterizes Huit's contributions to university and community life.

James N. Murray Faculty Award: Robert Latham, assistant professor of English. The award is given to an untenured faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding rapport with students and who creates an exemplary classroom atmosphere. It is named in honor of the late James N. Murray, UI professor and past chair of political science.