The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-2008; fax (319) 335-2055

Release: Immediate

Winners of the 1996 Iowa Poetry Prize announced

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- A writer-in-residence at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, a long-time Drake University professor and a professor at McNeese State University are the co-winners of the 1996 Iowa Poetry Prize from the University of Iowa Press.

Each will receive a $1,000 prize and their books will published by the UI Press next spring.

The winners are:

-- Pamela Alexander for the collection, "Inland." Alexander is a writer-in-residence at MIT and a poetry columnist for the Boston Globe. She won the 1995 Yale Younger Poets Prize for a previous collection, "Navigable Waterways." She is also the author of "Commonwealth of Wings: An Ornithological Biography." Alexander taught at the UI Writers' Workshop in 1991.

-- Gary Gildner for the collection, "The Bunker in the Parsley Fields." Gildner has published 13 books of poetry as well as fiction and non-fiction. He won the National Magazine Award for Fiction and the Pushcart Prize for Fiction in 1986, the Hellen Bullis Poetry Prize and the William Carlos Williams Poetry Prize. His works include "Blue Like the Heavens," "The Second Bridge," "A Week in South Dakota," and "The Warsaw Sparks." He taught writing at Drake University from 1966 to 1993.

-- John Wood for the collection, "The Gates of the Elect Kingdom." Wood holds a dual appointment at McNeese State University as professor of English and photographic history. He is the author of four books on photography and two volumes of poetry, including "In Primary Light," which won the 1993 Iowa Poetry Prize.

The Iowa Poetry Prize was established to encourage the work of poets who have published at least one full-length book. The prize is administered through the UI Press.